Sharing files in a much more convenient way: DOCUMENT COLLABORATION!

Published November 12, 2015 by RAFrants

Technology has really amazed me.

Last week, our professor taught us the meaning of Cloud Computing and how to share files in a much easier way and that is with Google Drive.

Google has really improved, I can still remember hating Google for its slow server when I was much younger– until my 4th year of High school I had been using Yahoo as my main server. Google has amazed me with its collaboration with Facebook, YouTube, DropBox, and many more!
So back to what I have been saying, Sir taught us what Cloud computing is and how to use Google Drive.

Cloud Computing is a process which uses a network of servers hosted on the Internet to store, manage and process data rather than in local computer. (Obrero, 2015)

In simple terms, your storage is online! This is advantageous to us students because there will be times where we will need to format our computer because it has been infected with infectious malware (Woohoo I learned something from the lecture!). If ever, like what happened to Sir’s friend, you only saved your file (especially thesis!) on your computer and it has been infected with virus, there is a big chance that you will no longer open the file and have all your hard work GONE! So if you save your file online, you will not only save the memory capacity of the computer or save yourself from losing your hard work, you will also save your computer from having malware! (Kasi diba, iskolar tayo ng bayan kaya walang printer sa dorm natin– tanging  #richkidsofUPLB lang ang makakabili ng printer! Back to my rant, ayun kaysa pumila ka ng pagkatagal-tagal sa iskulmeyts at isaksak ang iyong USB sa mga laptop nilang punong-puno ng virus, pumunta ka na lang sa google drive! Dun ka magtype ng gagawin mo, pre! Cloud computing ang Google Drive ‘pre! Ayan magbabaroque XD english na ulit ako in 3…2…1. ).

So how did we use Google Drive?

Of course we first had to log in using our eUP accounts and after that he taught us a very amazing technique for a much easier research. I regret not taking IT1 last year, ENG 2 would have been much easier with the techniques Sir taught us.

There is a SEARCH BOX while using Microsoft Word and you can search what you want, put image on your file, and lastly use APA Citation! During ENG2 days, the citation took me hours to finish! I did not study proper citation in high school to tell you.

So yeah after the discussion, Sir asked us to create two documents: one for excel and one for MsWord!

We created a story and it was damn funny.

It was about Drake’s friend and a banana. Actually I cannot understand the story because it is full of advertisements! We put Ariel’s 7.50 commercial and Kris Aquino’s famous lines so I really do not understand what happened.

I am going to give you an excerpt from our story:

It is titled: “The Magical Misadventures of Drake’s Friend and his Banana Because Popoy did not Give Basha the  Balat ng Chicken Mcdo *hart hart*”

One day, a man in a trenchcoat, Timberland boots with fur trimmings, and a black fedora hat was walking down the grocery aisle. He spotted some fresh bananas and smiled with eyes brimming with happiness because it reminded him of Drake, a friend who loves the color yellow (isn’t it green?). He was startled when his phone rang because he knew when the hotline bling played, it could only mean one thing.

(c) earlybirdcatchestheworm.files.wordpress.com


Sorry if my blog is hard to read I mean vague, ambiguous, lacking, just whatever you call it, my mind is also not in the right state hahaha, beh I had four exams last week!

Leave a comment